h1

TRON: Legacy

December 18, 2010

image

Pictured: Daft Punk at the premiere of Tron: Legacy

I remember watching the original TRON movie back in 2000. Even then, it’d been an old movie at 18 years old. It was pretty weird seeing something kind of low tech looking yet knowing that it was supposed to be considered high tech at the time of it’s release. My biggest comparison at the time would have been The Matrix. But, I knew that this was the matrix before the Matrix was even thought of. I thought the movie was ok, but I knew there were people out there who considered it a huge classic.

This week, I watched TRON: Legacy. Literally 28 years since the original came out and a decade since I’d seen the original, this was a long time coming. So long in fact, that I had to go back and rewatch TRON because I didn’t remember a thing besides the light cycles. If watching TRON in 2000 was an interesting experience, watching it in 2010 was a wild one. Everything seemed super old, I was half expecting to hear more Pong and Pac-Man sounds come out of my speakers! But after going through it, I was ready for Legacy.

I actually watched Legacy at on opening night at the midnight showing in 3D. They said a majority of the film was done in 3D, not just converted. I was actually surprised to see that there was no line at all for this movie and I assumed it was either because only old people would be going to watch it (those old enough to remember the original) or because a storm had just come in and people didn’t feel like going out to the movies. I ended up in the theater about half an hour before show time and only half the seats were filled. By the start of the trailers, all seats were packed, amazing.

image

The movie was pretty awesome, the whole “TRON 3D in your face” was done pretty well, although I can imagine it not being needed since the CG was done really nicely. I can definitely see the TRON clothing style coming back into fashion after this movie, albeit in clubs and junk. A major highlight for me was when Daft Punk had their cameo in the movie. Daft Punk actually did the soundtrack for the movie and it was EPIC. Mixing old school with modern house and the occasional classical thrown in made it an incredible music experience while watching this movie.

image

Light Cycles!
Of course, everyone wants to talk about the new generation Light Cycles. Those things were wicked! When I started to miss the old school Light cycle, it shows up in the movie, too! Haha, very cool. And there’s a huge surprise at the ending battle with jets. Let’s just say, I’m still speechless and I want to watch it again.

image

TRON: Legacy is definitely a great movie. Online reviews say the ending it pretty weak, but seriously, how many movies can top their cult classic forefathers? This movie has great action, awesome light showings, and to top it all off, this offering is coming from DISNEY. You can’t go wrong with this movie, 3D or not. And I’m definitely getting this movie when it comes out for our homes.

One comment

  1. […] it at TRON: Legacy via The Brain 2 […]



Leave a Reply

