h1

NaNoWriMo fo’ me

November 4, 2010

image

Yeah, BOI! I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year! It’s gonna get crazy up in here! I can feel my juices (creative) flowing!!!

Ok, I lied. Did I trick you? Even a little bit? I know someone out there would have believed me if I told them I was doing NaNoWriMo. I’m not actually doing NaNoWriMo because I totally forgot about it. When I did remember, November was here and I don’t feel like losing a few of works. And also because I’m scared of it. That’s right, this thing is vicious in my eyes.

What seems like a simple ploy to encourage writers is actually a very daunting task to me. Here’s the stitch, you get the month of November to write a 50,000 word novel. It doesn’t matter the genre, the story direction or even the quality of the writing. You just need to hit the magic number once the end of the month comes. That’s an average of 1600 words or so a day.

Would I be able to meet it? Maybe. Writing is a tough thing to do for most people, but if it’s an all out “write it for writings sake”, I could probably do it. I just don’t really see myself outputting at such a high rate. To put it into perspective, my blog posts are on average 500-600 words or so. I actually like writing for my blog and try to write often for it. Still, I write an average of 1.5 blog posts a week. That’s what, 900 words for a week of writing right there. I’m way behind in word count, haha.

I also have that random story I wrote pulling at my heartstrings. I’ve not written a word of prose for it in over 5 years, how do you expect me to write a psycho story in a month? It’s just not going to happen, even if my characters are very endearing to me.

Now, this isn’t to say that NaNoWriMo is forever out of my reach or the reach of most people. In fact, NaNoWriMo is hugely popular and is very well known on the ‘nets. I remember Amy successfully did it one year, props to her. That’s pretty awesome, seeing as how I freak writing multiple page essays nowadays.

Suppose you did want to do NaNoWriMo, what happens? You need to sign up at the website to participate. You can sign up any time during the year, but you can only do your actual writing during the month of November. When your finished, you submit your manuscript (yeah, you’ll have a “manuscript” now, awesome) to the website and the bots verify the word count. If your manuscript blows pass the 50,000 mark, you succeeded! Congratulations! You now get a special link to a website that has that years Winners’ Certificate. Good job if you get one, it represents your tenacity for partaking in this daunting task that only the bravest of scribes will undergo.

As for me, I’ll stick to my slow rate of output, my random bamblings, and my certificate-less rewards. Maybe next year I’ll be brave enough to do NaNoWriMo. Until then, I salute those who have and are.

(Sidenote: Excluding this sentence, this post was 530 words. Smack dab in my average.)

One comment

  1. […] it at NaNoWriMo fo’ me via The Brain 2 […]



Leave a Reply

