h1

Watch me! I can tell time.

November 2, 2010

image

Carrying a cellphone is now considered the norm and even an essential way of life for many. Besides making obligatory phone calls, cellphones have another inherent ability, they tell time. In fact, they can be the way to tell time. Many people keep cellphones on their body at all times. Their cellphones’ clocks are connected to the cell carrier’s servers, maintaining perfect update adjustments for time keeping. It’s a wonder how we we able to find the time when we were on the move in the past?

It’s such a wrist:
I only know a few people who wear watches nowadays. I believe Raj still does, John occasionally, and maybe a few girls who receive watches as gifts. I love wearing watches. Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve owned at least one watch at all times. When it broke, wore out, or I just got tired of it, I’d buy a new one to replace it. Currently, I own three wristwatches and one pocket watch (two of them are pictured in this post). If I didn’t get weird looks, I’d probably wear one on each wrist. Ok, that’s maybe a bit too weird. But I love different things sometimes. Apparently, for people our age, wristwatches are slowly approaching that point. The wristwatch has fallen to the wayside as just fashion items.

image

Branded and sold
If you see someone young, it’s almost a given that if there’s a timepiece on their arms, it’s a G-Shock (Baby-G for the ladies) or something totally metal. Casio’s G-Shock lines of watches have turned into a fashion watch that combines durability with notoriety and style. A typical G-Shock watch will go for on average $70 in the US, albeit with there being some budget offerings and premium lines abound, too. But the price association is implied when you see someone wearing a G-Shock, the person shelled out a bit more than just a Wal-Mart drop.

Metallic watches have always been thought of as a fashion item. Instead of lusted over for their function, it’s the gleam and shine of owning something that immediately screams money because they were limited to higher brands like Seiko. The interesting change is that metallic watches are no longer out of reach as they were in yesteryears. Nowadays, they can be had for as low as $30 for quality name brands such as Timex. Even a cheap knockoff metallic watch will change the way someone looks.

Where, When, Why?
After wearing watches for many years, I’ve gotten used to the feeling. But I know a lot of people who don’t like having something strapped to their wrists. I guess it’s also a given that I like wearing beads on my wrists, too. However, there are still times when even I still found it awkward to wear a watch.

Wearing a watch to bed is actually still a debated topic among watch wearers. With the exception of the single metallic watch I own, I always take off my watch before I climb into bed. I like to let my wrists rest for the night and breathe. I do know people who wear their watches to bed because they use the light functions to tell time in the dark. It’s especially useful for people who take off their glasses at night, looking across the room in the dark for the time when you’re already bat-blind without glasses just becomes a ridiculous chore.

A lot of watches are water resistant and can go to extreme depths even! But for the everyday watch, it should withstand enough water in the event that you accidentally dunk it. Typically, this involves washing dishes or maybe washing the car. If you venture into the waters at the beach, you’d better hope that your watch can stand the depths. For some people, they wear their watches into the shower. I did that years ago with one of my watches when I was a kid and literally screwed up my leather strap permanently. I’ve never gone into the shower with a watch on since, even if it were metal and rated for the bowels of the ocean. Besides, I leave my phone playing music to gauge the time.

Whether you wear a watch or not, be it for fashion or function, it’s still something many people consider as essential as a cellphone. Without it, they feel naked.

3 comments

  1. […] it at Watch me! I can tell time via The Brain 2 […]


  2. You know me to always have a watch. Like you said, its not just for function. To me, it says a lot about a person. A kind of old school feel to it.

    Now that I’m a nursing student, I actually HAVE to wear a watch. An analog watch with a second hand is a requirement. It’s for checking vital signs and drip rates. Like your IV drip should be 52 gtt / min. How do you check? Wrist watch of course.

    I love wear watches. Even though I don’t wear them as much as I want to, since I broke all these crappy “fake” watches here in the PI. Back home, though, you know me to be a lover of watches.

    It’s more than just a piece of jewelery, a fashion statement, a way to tell time.

    It’s a way of life. A culture, in a sense.


    • Heck yes!



Leave a Reply

