h1

Sold my iPhone, phoning from 2003

June 16, 2010

image

Let’s go back a few years. What you’re looking at above is a Sony Ericsson T637. This phone was released in late 2003/early 2004. I used this phone years ago in high school and passed it on to my Mom and later to my Dad. At the time, it was a great phone with lots of features, namely a VGA camera and Bluetooth.

Fast forward to a week ago, I sold my iPhone 3G. After two years, I was ready for an upgrade and the iPhone 4 definitely fit my needs. Originally, I was going to give the 3G to my sister once I upgraded to the iPhone 4. However, I decided to sell it for cash so that the money could be spent on a new iPhone 4 for her as well. I sold my 3G on the 10th and the iPhone 4 doesn’t come out until the 24th. I figured, what the hey, I’ll use the old up above for two weeks. It’ll be easy. Boy, was I unprepared for what was to come.

The first night, it hit me. I don’t have an MP3 player now. I’ve been using my iPhone for that. I had to borrow my sister’s spare MP3 player, an old Creative Muvo TX. One line screen and a jog-dial for controls. Nothing else to do while listening to it, but to listen to it. No playing with apps, no surfing the web, so reading RSS feeds. I guess it’s ok.

Over the next few days, I realized I was missing my iPhone quite a bit.

While connecting to a TF2 server, I was going to pull out my phone to surf the web a bit. NO CAN DO.

When I shower, I play music from my phone to keep track of how long it’s been. NO CAN DO.

I went to San Francisco with family and we had to wait for the GPS to find satellites. I was going to whip out my phone and use it to find our location, A-GPS on my phone was faster than regular GPS units. NO CAN DO.

Even something as simple as checking the weather to see what I should wear for the day required me booting up my computer. If only I had my iPhon- NOCANDO!

For the past two years, I’ve had my iPhone with me nearly constantly. Having a smartphone, using it, and getting used to it has definitely made me become dependent on it. Without it, I’ve lost quick access to a lot of important, if mundane, functions in my life. It’s taken a week for me to get re-acclimated to life without a smartphone. Certainly feels like I’ve gone back in time, even if it was just two years ago when I didn’t have an iPhone. Even still, I can’t wait till the 24th when I go and pickup a new one.

Leave a Reply

