h1

Burning Rice

March 16, 2010

I’m sitting here in front of a bowl of rice quite like the one pictured below.

imageThe only bad part is that I’m afraid to start devouring it like a rabid wolf who just came across some wounded animal. The reason? Because I’d like to retain some sort of feeling left in my mouth after my meal. The rice is ridiculously hot and would no doubt burn my tongue, maybe even other places in my mouth that I don’t know the name of.

I had freshly made rice and was piling it on to a plate. Then, I stupidly piled on cold soy sauce chicken. Well, you can eat cold chicken, can you? At least, I wouldn’t want to if I didn’t have to. So, into the microwave it goes for a little bit of nuking. BAD. Hot rice getting even hotter. When it came out, you wouldn’t believe the amount of steam rising off of the plate. I plucked the plate out of the microwave and set at it with my chopsticks.

First bite was a piece of chicken. Oh, it was good. Not chewy like you’d expect chicken after it’s been microwave’d. Which was a good thing, because then I nearly jumped out of my chair as I shoveled a large lump of piping hot rice into my mouth. I’d probably describe it as placing edible lumps of coal into my oh-so-sensitive mouth. The pain, it was painful. But, I didn’t spit it out because I’m manly like that. HAHA. I sloshed it around and starting doing that whole reverse breathing you’re supposed to do to prevent tongue death (read: burn.) So, that’s the situation I’m at, a plate of rice way too hot to eat and it’s all my fault. Oh well, this sadness will dissipate in a few minutes. I can wait since it’s food.

One comment

  1. […] And a small bit on me trying to eat rice that was just way too hot. Seriously, you’d think the asian in me would know better. It’s freakin’ rice! https://thebrain2u.wordpress.com/2010/03/16/burning-rice/ […]



Leave a Reply

