h1

Waking up when the sun goes down

December 15, 2009

That’s what’s been happening ever since the quarter let out and winter break began. I’ve been staying up late and waking up late. With winter here in full force, sunset is early and nightfall kicks in sooner in the day. So, I find myself getting up late and by the time I’m all groomed, dressed, and out of the house, the sun is already setting on the horizon with the moon peeking out between the clouds. Ha, it’s an interesting way of doing things.

One of my hard drives stopped being recognized by the computer. Both BIOS and Windows couldn’t find the drive. After trying a few things like switching SATA ports, cables and whatnot, I was able to isolate the problem to the drive. But, the drive was still spinning when powered, no clicking noises had come from it ever, and was a perfectly healthy drive. I remembered Andrew telling me something about the firmware before, so to the ‘Nets I went. After a short search, I came across people using Seagate drives with SD15 firmware and having the same problems. Turns out, the firmware is faulty and under certain circumstances will lock up the drive. This essentially stops access to the drive and seems to brick the drive. I yanked out the drive from my computer, lo and behold, it was running firmware SD15. A little more searching, I found that 30-40% of the drives running firmware SD15 were locking up. That’s terrible. I gave Seagate a call and they hooked me up with I365, their subsidiary that offered data recovery and hard drive hardware repair services. They told me to send in my drive and they’d attempt a force firmware update, hopefully it would unlock my drive while keeping all my data intact. So, I sent the drive in and await for the good word. In the meantime, I have a second identical drive and have updated the firmware on that on just in case. John also has one and I’ve told him to update his firmware. He kinda brushed it off at first, but I literally told him, do it or lose everything you have on it. Scared him into flashing his firmware.

Oh yeah, I took part in a pool tournament this past weekend. It was called the Triangle Tournament, with games including 7-ball, 8-ball, and 9-ball. After a quick test of skill, I was assigned the level B, which is moderate in skill. After playing a bit, the tournament head asked how long I had played. 3 months is how long I’ve been playing and I’m proud to have reached B in that short amount of time. But, the tournament head said that I’ll be written as a C level player next time. That’ll give me an easier handicap against harder players. That’s perfectly fine because then I’ll have the skills of a moderate player with the handicap that beginning players get. Haha, awesome. Also, one of the B level players, whom has played pool for 2 years, asked me to join his pool team. That’s pretty cool, seeing how far I’ve been able to get in just 3 months. Still, I don’t think I”ll be joining the team since I like the game for what it is, a game. I play for fun, to relieve stress and to have fun with friends. I don’t really feel like turning it into a competitive sport just yet.

One comment

  1. […] Waking up when the sun goes down via The Brain 2 U […]



Leave a Reply

